Friday, January 17, 2014

Five on Friday Time!

I'm linking up with ChristinaDarciApril, and Natasha for 5 on Friday and you should too!

ONE.  We don't have much planned for this weekend, so I'm thinking I'll give myself a fun manicure.  Abby posted a great tutorial for doing polka dot nails...I think I'm going to have to try it out!  Or maybe I should try something like this in honor of the NFL playoffs this weekend :)

Football nails - awesome idea for football season
source
TWO.  Our dishwasher quit working for some reason on Wednesday night.  Something about a temperature sensor or something.  I'm waiting to hear back on how much it would cost for someone to fix it, but I'm hoping it's something my Dad can help with instead.  So now I have to do the dishes by hand for a while.  #firstworldproblems

THREE.  I'm ready for my hair to be long again!  I chopped it off in August, but I'm ready for it to grow back ASAP.  What I wouldn't give to have this hair right now:
Long dark hair
source
FOUR.  I've been seriously addicted to Pinterest lately (and from reading some of your blogs, I'm not alone).  It must be the new year making me want to be all organized, stylish, and crafty...and I'm not mad about it.  Now I just need to buckle down and actually DO some of the things I've pinned.

FIVE.  In case you missed it, I got a little personal on here yesterday.  I shared the story of my struggles with my teeth.  I even shared some pretty embarrassing photos.  You can check it all out here.


Hope you have a great weekend!!

Thursday, January 16, 2014

I have the worst teeth. Ever.

After a routine visit to the dentist this week for a cleaning, I thought I would share my struggles with my teeth.  They are horrible.  Name a dental issue/procedure and I've probably had it.  Now, don't get me wrong, I know it could be worse.  I still have my teeth (well the majority of them-you'll understand soon).  

I've been going to the dentist/orthodontist/oral surgeon ever since I can remember.  So here's a little timeline (with photos-you're welcome) of  my dental adventures.  A lot of my close friends probably don't even know all of these things because I used to be embarrassed about some of them, but I'm not anymore, so I decided to share my story.  I know it's not the most interesting thing to read, but I'm glad I have it all documented.  And hey, maybe someone out there can relate!  Or you can just look at some of the embarrassing photos I included...


Birth-Age 8:  I had typical cavities/fillings.  Nothing crazy yet.

Age 9:   I had my first experience with the orthodontist.  I had some type of "appliance" installed on the roof of my mouth because they needed to correct my cross bite.  I had to go in about once a month for them to adjust it.  I think I probably wore it for 10-12 months.

Age 10-12:  Just more cavities and fillings.

Age 13:  Two things happened around this age.  I had an "expander" installed on the roof of my mouth to stretch my jaw because they didn't think I had enough room for all of my teeth.  I had to insert a key in the thing and turn it every night so it would stretch a little more.  This caused a GIANT gap in my front two teeth.  Lovely.  Just what I want right before I start high school.

Look at that gap...unreal.  I'm pretty sure I could fit a straw through there.  That is what the "expander" did to my teeth.
After all of my baby teeth fell out and my adult teeth came in, they realized that my top eye teeth never came in.  They were there, just never came in.  My orthodontist referred me to an oral surgeon.  The oral surgeon determined that I needed surgery to uncover the eye teeth that never came in.  They were able to uncover one enough so that a bracket could be attached to it when I got my braces and it could be pulled down using the braces.  However, the other one was not in a position to be "saved" so they removed it.  So I just didn't have an eye tooth on my left side anymore.  They said they would leave enough room with my braces to do an implant in the future.

Age 14-17:  I have braces on my top and bottom teeth.  For 3.5 years.  All through high school (suck).

Age 17:  I get a "flipper" for my eye tooth (basically a fake tooth attached to a retainer).

Age 21:  I get braces AGAIN.  I'm told there is not enough room to do an implant, so they have to put braces back on for 6-8 months to create the room.  16 months later the braces finally came off.
Yay for braces a second time - NOT.
Age 21:  I get all four wisdom teeth removed and have my implant done (while I'm still wearing the braces).  The new "tooth" can't be attached to the implant for several months until everything heals...so I continue wearing an awful fitting flipper.
You can kind of tell how swollen my cheeks are in this pic (I'm on the right).  This was a couple days after the wisdom teeth and implant surgery.
Age 22:  The braces finally come off and I get my new tooth!

Age 23-25:  I'm not exactly sure what age I had these done, but it was over these couple of years.

First:  You know that little piece of skin that connects your bottom lip to your bottom gum line?  Well mine was pulling on my gums, and causing my gum to recede on one of my front teeth.  So, I had that "clipped" and my lip stitched to my gum further down in my mouth so it wouldn't pull any more.  Then, I had a soft tissue graft done on the tooth where the gum had receded, which basically just gave me some gum line back on that tooth.

Second:  I had a crown done on one of my back teeth.  When I was young, my tooth was so bad, that my dentist literally put a filling around the entire tooth, and since it had been many years, the filling was cracking and my tooth was hurting, so a crown was done.  Well it doesn't end there.  The crown was fine, but my tooth still hurt, so I had to have a root canal done on it (which wasn't bad at all, actually).

Third:  One time when I went in for a cleaning, they said my gums were very bad, and I needed a deep gum cleaning.  And OMG was that awful.  Painful and uncomfortable the entire time.

Also over these years, I had all of my old silver fillings replaced with new, tooth colored ones; had the ridges on all of my teeth filed down, and I got a bite/night guard that I wear at night so that I don't clinch/grind my teeth while I'm sleeping.

Age 26 (today):  I go to the dentist for my cleaning on January 14, 2014 and I'm told that my gums aren't in the greatest shape.  Story of my life.  Literally.

It just gets old.  And expensive.  I'm very thankful that I have insurance, but trust me, insurance does not cover everything.  I don't know what to do anymore.  I go for my cleanings every year (always have), I brush twice a day, I got the Sonicare toothbrush that my dentist recommended, and I floss once a day.  I guess it's just my genetics.  That's what I'm going with.

Just one time, I'd like to go to the dentist and have them say everything looks good.  Just one time.  Is that too much to ask?

Friday, January 10, 2014

Five on Friday

I'm linking up with ChristinaDarciApril, and Natasha for 5 on Friday and you should too!

ONE.  My friend Kaleena and I went to the Keith Urban concert last night and it was AMAZING.  It's the first time I'd ever seen him.  He put on a great show.  I would go back and see him again in a heartbeat!







TWO.  Kaleena and I decided last night that we are totally ready for summer and outdoor concerts!  Country concerts remind me of summer and being oustide...I'm soooo ready for it, but I fear that Michigan has many more months of cold winter weather in store for me.

THREE.  I signed up for my second race!  I'm going to do another 5k in May.  I'm excited about getting back in to running...when the weather starts to cooperate that is (see #2).

FOUR.  Starting Monday, I'm joining Stephanie at Southern Mess and going Yeast-Free for 30 days.  It's time to get back on track with my eating and get in shape!  Who else wants to join?  Click here to read more.

FIVE.  We have some fun weekend plans that I'm looking to.  I have to work for a few hours tomorrow, but then we are going to dinner with some friends, and going out to lunch for a friend's birthday on Sunday.  A big change from the super lazy weekend I had last weekend when I never left the house!

Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Snow Days

Monday and Tuesday were snow days for me, so no work!  I didn't leave the house and it was great.  Although, I did have to go outside in the below zero temps and shovel, but I just considered that my work out for the day.  I did get some things done around the house, but for the most part I was pretty lazy, and I'm ok with it.

I shoveled our deck, otherwise the snow would blow in when I let the dog in and out.  It was drifting pretty bad and was up to the to top of our deck!

I didn't shovel this side of the deck...that was all the snow we got in one night.

After I shoveled the driveway Tuesday morning...definitely a good work out.

The snowbanks are deep...probably up to mid thigh on me.  

Winter Wonderland!
I enjoyed having a couple snow days, but it's back to work today for me.  And do you know what tomorrow is?  No?  Well let me tell you...I'm going to see Keith Urban in concert tomorrow night!  I've never seen him before, so I'm pretty excited :)

Monday, January 6, 2014

Kitchen Goals/Ideas

I hope you had a great weekend...I literally didn't leave the house once on Saturday or Sunday.  Today I actually have a snow day from work, so I probably won't leave today either!

As part of my New Year's Resolution, I said wanted to clean/organize our house room by room.  I'm going to start with the kitchen, since that's the place where we spend a lot of time.  It's where we make all of our meals (we eat at home a lot), as well as where we enter/exit the house.  We rarely use our front door.  Instead, we enter through our breezeway area, which enters in to the kitchen.  

I'm hoping to start working in the kitchen this week, and I want to share my list of things I want to accomplish in there, hoping it will hold me more accountable.

Organize/clean all drawers and cupboards.
De-clutter counter tops.
Create a mini command center near breezeway door.
Clean all trim (repaint if necessary).
Clean floors (including grout).
Purchase and install a new faucet.
Paint walls grey.
Re-cover seats on dining chairs to add some color/pattern.
Finish grouting and trimming the back splash.

Here are some pictures of what our kitchen looks like:
I don't mind the green walls, I'd just like to do a grey/blue color to kind of match the backsplash and counter tops and add in pops of color other places.

These two pictures are from when we moved in, but it really doesn't look much different.
It's hard to tell in these pictures, but the quarter round they used around the backsplash is too small (in my opinion), and they didn't add any at the top of backsplash under the cabinets, and I think it needs some there.  There are also some spots around the kitchen window that need grout.
The area where the light switch is there on the wall is where I want to create a little command center.  The doorway you see to the right of the light switch is the breezeway, and that's the door we use all the time.
My plan is to completely finish a room before I move on to the next, so that I don't have a million projects happening at once.  I plan to share my progress with you all and any tips I learn along the way.  I have lots of ideas on my Kitchen Pinterest board, if you want to see what I might be thinking about doing.

Our kitchen/dining area is small, so being very organized is a must.  Do you have any kitchen organization/diy tips that might help me?

Friday, January 3, 2014

Five on Friday

Happy New Year!  This week's Five on Friday post is themed around just that, the new year.

I'm linking up with ChristinaDarciApril, and Natasha for 5 on Friday and you should too!
ONE.  Kevin and I spent our New Year's Eve at home and it was wonderful.  We wore sweat pants, ordered pizza, shared a pint of ice cream, and lounged the entire night.  I loved every minute of it.


TWO.  I got on a total cleaning/organizing kick on New Year's Day.  But I tried doing the entire house at once.  Fail.  I'm going to concentrate on putting away all of our Christmas gifts and then deep cleaning/organizing room by room.

THREE.  I have a few resolutions/goals this year.  The first is to eat healthier and get in better shape.  I think this is on my list every year.  To go along with this, I'd also like to run a couple more races this year.  My first 5k last year was really fun, so I'd like to do more!

Haha, goes through my mind every once in a while...
source
FOUR.  To go along with #2, I'd like to organize my house.  I want it organized while being functional and cute.  Then I can really start doing other projects I've been wanting to do, but I just can't justify doing those until things are organized.  Like I said, I'm going to do it slowly, room by room.

FIVE.  My final resolution/goal is to stress less.  I think this will be the hardest one for me because I think I get stressed easily over silly things.  I want to learn to let go a little.  I'm hoping that exercising more (see #3) will help me de-stress.

Did you have a fun New Year's Eve/Day?  Did you make any resolutions this year?

Wednesday, January 1, 2014

Top 10 Posts of 2013

Happy New Year!!  Since we've said goodbye to 2013 and hello to 2014, I'm sharing my top posts from last year.  Most of them are wedding related, because well, that was the main thing that I had going on in 2013.  Here are my top viewed posts of 2013:





#5.  Workouts



#8.  Weekend Recap (no idea why this post was so popular)

#9.  Buffalo Chicken Bites


#10.  "I Do" Wedding Shoes